Melbourne Conservatorium of Music staff directory

Contact details for academic staff at the Conservatorium.

Conservatorium Directorate

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Gary McPherson

Ormond Chair and Director, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

+61 3 8344 7889

g.mcpherson@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Linda Kouvaras

Associate Director (Research and Research Training)

+61 3 8344 4606

lindaik@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Elliott Gyger

Associate Director (Teaching and Learning)

+61 3 8344 7429

egyger@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Don Immel Associate Director (Music Performance) +61 3 9035 9177 don.immel@unimelb.edu.au

Composition

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Stuart Greenbaum

Head of Composition

+61 3 8344 7386

s.greenbaum@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Elliott Gyger

Associate Professor in Music (Composition)

+61 3 8344 7429

egyger@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Katy Abbott

Senior Lecturer in Music (Composition)

+61 3 8344 7896

kaabbott@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Miriama Young

Lecturer in Music (Composition)

+61 3 8344 8241

miriama.young@unimelb.edu.au

Entrepreneurship

Ms Susan de Weger Associate Lecturer in Music          
(Entrepreneurship)

+61 3 8344 1453

susan.deweger@unimelb.edu.au

Interactive Composition

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Associate Professor Mark Pollard

Head of Interactive Composition

+61 3 9035 9438

pollardm@unimelb.edu.au

Mr David Haberfeld

Lecturer in Music (Interactive Composition)

+61 3 8344 1541

david.haberfeld@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Anthony Lyons

Lecturer in Music (Interactive Composition)

+61 3 9035 9211

lyons@unimelb.edu.au

Jazz & Improvisation

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Dr Robert Vincs

Head of Jazz and Improvisation

+61 3 9035 9437

rvincs@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Alex Pertout

Senior Lecturer in Music (Improvisation)

+61 3 9035 9416

pertouta@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Ashley Cross

Lecturer in Music

+61 3 9035 9428

across@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Geoff Hughes

Lecturer in Music

+61 3 9035 9446

gahughes@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Sunny Kim

Lecturer in Music (Jazz and Improvisation)

+61 3 9035 9526

sunny.kim@unimelb.edu.au

Mrs Andrea Meagher

Lecturer in Music (Jazz and Improvisation - Piano)

+61 3 9035 9349

andrea.keller@unimelb.edu.au

Musicology & Ethnomusicology

Musicology

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Kerry Murphy

Head of Musicology

+61 3 8344 7381

kerryrm@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Linda Kouvaras

Associate Professor in Music (Musicology)

+61 3 8344 4606

lindaik@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Michael Christoforidis

Associate Professor in Music (Musicology)

+61 3 8344 8278

mchri@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Melanie Plesch

Associate Professor in Music (Musicology)

+61 3 8344 6616

mplesch@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Erin Helyard

Senior Lecturer in Music (Musicology and Historical Performance)

+61 3 8344 8382

erin.helyard@unimelb.edu.au

Dr David Irving

Senior Lecturer in Music (Musicology Performance Practice)

+61 3 8344 9328

david.irving@unimelb.edu.au

Ethnomusicology

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Dr Nicholas Tochka

Head of Ethnomusicology

+61 3 9035 3131

nicholas.tochka@unimelb.edu.au

Music Performance

Brass

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Associate Professor Don Immel

Head of Lower Brass

+61 3 9035 9177

dimmel@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Joel Brennan

Head of Upper Brass

+61 3 9035 8601

joel.brennan@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Carla Blackwood

Lecturer in Music (Performance - French Horn)

 

cblackwood@unimelb.edu.au

Conducting

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Associate Professor Richard Davis

Head of Orchestral Studies

+61 3 9035 9004

richard.davis@unimelb.edu.au

Early Music

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Associate Professor Robert Nairn

Head of Early Music

+61 3 8344 1437

robert.nairn@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Erin Helyard

Senior Lecturer in Music (Musicology and Historical Performance)

+61 3 8344 8382

erin.helyard@unimelb.edu.au

Dr David Irving

Senior Lecturer in Music (Musicology Performance Practice)

+61 3 8344 9328

david.irving@unimelb.edu.au

Guitar

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Dr Ken Murray

Head of Guitar

+61 3 8344 4607

kenjm@unimelb.edu.au

Mx ToniƩ Field

Lecturer in Music (Guitar)

+ 61 3 9035 9426

afield@unimelb.edu.au

Keyboard

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Ian Holtham

Head of Keyboard

+61 3 8344 7387

i.holtham@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Glenn Riddle

Lecturer in Music (Piano)

+61 3 9035 9406

glenn.riddle@unimelb.edu.au

Percussion

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Mr Peter Neville

Head of Percussion

+61 3 9035 9414

pneville@unimelb.edu.au

Strings

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Associate Professor Curt Thompson

Head of Strings

+61 3 9035 9187

w.thompson@unimelb.edu.au

Associate Professor Robert Nairn

Associate Professor in Music (Performance, Double Bass)

+61 3 8344 1437

robert.nairn@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Markiyan Melnychenko

Lecturer in Music (Violin)

+61 3 8344 1205

markiyan.melnychenko@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Simon Oswell

Lecturer in Music (Viola)

+61 3 8344 8013

soswell@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Alvin Wong

Lecturer in Music (Cello)

+61 3 9035 7802

alvin.wong@unimelb.edu.au

Voice

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Mr Stephen Grant

Head of Voice

+61 3 9035 9433

sjgrant@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Anna Connolly

Senior Lecturer in Music (Voice)

+61 3 9035 9431

eaconn@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Linda Barcan

Lecturer in Music (Voice)

+61 3 9035 9447

linda.barcan@unimelb.edu.au

Mr David Barnard

Tutor in Music (Repetiteur)

+61 3 8344 4015

david.barnard@unimelb.edu.au

Woodwind

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Mr Derek Jones

Head of Woodwind

+61 3 9035 9440

drjones@unimelb.edu.au

Mr David Griffiths

Senior Lecturer in Music (Performance - Clarinet)

+61 3 9035 9346

griffithsd@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Ian Godfrey

Lecturer in Music (Woodwind)

+61 3 8344 8280

ibg@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Lyndon Watts

Lecturer in Music (Double Reed - Bassoon)

 

lyndon.watts@unimelb.edu.au

Music Psychology and Performance Science

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Gary McPherson

Ormond Professor, Director, Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

+61 3 8344 7889

g.mcpherson@unimelb.edu.au

Professor Jane Davidson

Professor of Creative and Performing Arts (Music)

+61 3 8344 0566

j.davidson@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Amanda Krause Research Fellow: Centre for the History of Emotions and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

+61 3 9035 6134

amanda.krause@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Margaret Osborne

Lecturer in Music (Performance Science)

+61 3 9035 3503

mosborne@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Stephanie Rocke

Research Fellow

 

stephanie.rocke@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Yi Ting Tan

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Music Psychology)

+61 3 8344 6353

yt.tan@unimelb.edu.au

Music Therapy

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Professor Felicity Baker

Head of Music Therapy
Co-Director of the National Music Therapy Research Unit

+61 3 9035 3057

felicity.baker@unimelb.edu.au

Professor Katrina Skewes McFerran

Co-Director of the National Music Therapy Research Unit

+61 3 8344 7382

k.mcferran@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Jennifer Bibb

Tutor in Music (Music Therapy - Breadth)

+61 3 9035 9314

bibb.jennifer@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Lucy Bolger

Lecturer in Music (Blended Learning / Music Therapy)

+61 3 9035 9496

bolger.l@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Imogen Clark

Lecturer in Music (Blended Learning / Music Therapy) and Research Fellow

+61 3 8344 4449

imogen.clark@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Alexander Crooke

Research Fellow

+61 408 677 023

alexander.crooke@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Kim Dunphy

McKenzie Postdoctoral Fellow

+61 3 9035 9323

k.dunphy@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Cherry Hense

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

+61 411 707 354

cherry.hense@unimelb.edu.au

Mr Jason Kenner

Lecturer in Music (Industry Partnerships / Music Therapy)

+61 3 9035 8901

jason.kenner@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Claire Lee

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

 

lee.y@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Juyoung Lee

Clinical Supervisor (Music Therapy)

+61 3 8344 5091

juyl@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Kirsten Meyer

CATDI Coordinator

+61 3 9035 9473

kristen.meyer@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Melissa Murphy

Lecturer in Music (Blended Learning / Music Therapy)

+61 3 9035 9174

murphy.m@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Phoebe Stretton-Smith

Research Fellow (Music Therapy)

 

phoebe.stretton@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Jeanette Tamplin

Senior Research Development Fellow

+61 3 8344 3003

jeanette.tamplin@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Kate Teggelove

Research Fellow

 

kate.teggelove@unimelb.edu.au

Dr Grace Thompson

Senior Lecturer in Music (Music Therapy)

+61 3 9035 8978

graceat@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Zara Thompson

Research Assistant (Music Therapy)

 zara.thompson@unimelb.edu.au

Online Learning, Educational Technologies

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Dr Carol Johnson

Senior Lecturer in Music (Educational Technologies / Online Learning)

 

carol.johnson@unimelb.edu.au

Performance Teaching

PersonPositionPhoneEmail

Mr Ian Godfrey

Lecturer in Music (Woodwind)

+61 3 8344 8280

ibg@unimelb.edu.au

Ms Tracy Galloway

Lecturer in Music (Performance Teaching)

+61 3 9035 7960

tracy.galloway@unimelb.edu.au