Faculty Governance

Information about how the Faculty of Fine Arts and Music is governed and structured

Faculty executive

The Faculty Executive provides advice and support to the Dean on strategic and operational planning, management and performance of the Faculty.


  • Develop and implement policy and procedures in compliance with University policy, procedures and statutory responsibilities
  • Serve as the coordinating and steering committee for matters referred to the Faculty Board and the two Schools of the Faculty
  • Advise the Dean on resource allocation to enable the Faculty to implement its programs and meet its priorities, approve annual budget and monitor expenditure against plan
  • Provide advice to the Dean on student load management.


  • Dean (Chair)
  • Associate Deans
  • Director, the Conservatorium
  • Director, VCA
  • Faculty Executive Director
  • EA to the Dean (Secretariat) (ex officio)


The Faculty Executive Committee is required to meet no less than four times a year.


  • Professor Marie Sierra, Dean
  • Ms Colleen Wait, EA to the Dean

Visit the Executive Staff Directory for contact information for executive staff members

Faculty Advisory Board

The Faculty Advisory Board provides advice and support to the Dean.


  • Strategic policy development and contribution for education and training, research, commercial and community relations
  • Advise on arts sector and community needs for new and existing courses offered
  • Promoting the programs of the Faculty within the arts sector and wider community
  • Development of the Faculty’s reputation and financial benefaction
  • Participating in the selection committee convened to recommend the appointment of the Dean.


  • Ms Mary Jo Capps AM, Chair
  • Professor Marie Sierra
  • Mr Andrew Dyer
  • Mr Jonathan Feder
  • Ms Stephanie Lake
  • Professor Sally Smart
  • Ms Yvonne von Hartel AM


The Faculty Advisory Board is required to meet no less than twice a year.


  • Professor Marie Sierra, Dean
  • Ms Colleen Wait, EA to Dean

Faculty leadership team

Dean, Fine Arts and MusicProfessor Marie Sierra+61 3 9035 9316fineartsmusic-dean@unimelb.edu.au
Director, VCAProfessor Barb Bolt+61 3 9035 9002vca-director@unimelb.edu.au
Director, the ConservatoriumProfessor Richard Kurth+61 3 8344 7889mcm-director@unimelb.edu.au
Faculty Executive DirectorMs Jane Richards+61 3 9035 9316fineartsmusic-fed@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (Academic)Associate Professor Melanie Plesch+61 3 9035 9334mplesch@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (Indigenous Development)Mr Tiriki Onus+61 3 9035 9345tiriki.onus@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean
Associate Professor Kenny McAlpine+61 3 9035 9403kenny.mcalpine@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (International)Mr Leon Salom+61 3 9035 9286leon.salom@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean
(Inclusion & Diversity)
Associate Professor Alyson Campbell+61 3 9035 9185
Associate Dean
Professor Katrina McFerran+61 3 8344 7382k.mcferran@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
(Teaching & Learning)
Donna Lyon+61 3 9035 9083donna.lyon@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
Dr Danny Butt+61 3 8344 2326danny.butt@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
Donna Lyon+61 3 9035 9083donna.lyon@unimelb.edu.au
The Conservatorium Associate Director
(Teaching & Learning)
Associate Professor Elliott Gyger+61 3 8344 7429egyger@unimelb.edu.au
The Conservatorium Associate Director
(Research & Research Training)
Associate Professor Linda Kouvaras+61 3 8344 0566lindaik@unimelb.edu.au
The Conservatorium Associate Director (Music Performance)Associate Professor Don Immel+61 3 9035 9177don.immel@unimelb.edu.au