Faculty Governance

Information about how the Faculty of Fine Arts and Music is governed and structured

Faculty executive

The Faculty Executive provides advice and support to the Dean on strategic and operational planning, management and performance of the Faculty.

Responsibilities

  • Develop and implement policy and procedures in compliance with University policy, procedures and statutory responsibilities
  • Serve as the coordinating and steering committee for matters referred to the Faculty Board and the two Schools of the Faculty
  • Advise the Dean on resource allocation to enable the Faculty to implement its programs and meet its priorities, approve annual budget and monitor expenditure against plan
  • Provide advice to the Dean on student load management.

Membership

  • Dean (Chair)
  • Associate Deans
  • Director, the Conservatorium
  • Director, VCA
  • Faculty Executive Director
  • EA to the Dean (Secretariat) (ex officio)

Meetings

The Faculty Executive Committee is required to meet no less than four times a year.

Contact

  • Professor Marie Sierra, Dean
  • Ms Colleen Wait, EA to the Dean

Visit the Executive Staff Directory for contact information for executive staff members

Faculty Advisory Board

The Faculty Advisory Board provides advice and support to the Dean.

Responsibilities

  • Strategic policy development and contribution for education and training, research, commercial and community relations
  • Advise on arts sector and community needs for new and existing courses offered
  • Promoting the programs of the Faculty within the arts sector and wider community
  • Development of the Faculty’s reputation and financial benefaction
  • Participating in the selection committee convened to recommend the appointment of the Dean.

Members

  • Ms Mary Jo Capps AM, Chair
  • Professor Marie Sierra
  • Mr Andrew Dyer
  • Mr Jonathan Feder
  • Ms Stephanie Lake
  • Professor Sally Smart
  • Ms Yvonne von Hartel AM

Meetings

The Faculty Advisory Board is required to meet no less than twice a year.

Contact

  • Professor Marie Sierra, Dean
  • Ms Colleen Wait, EA to Dean

Faculty leadership team

PositionPersonPhoneEmail
Dean, Fine Arts and MusicProfessor Marie Sierra+61 3 9035 9316fineartsmusic-dean@unimelb.edu.au
Director, VCAProfessor Emma Redding+61 3 9035 9177vca-director@unimelb.edu.au
Director, ConservatoriumProfessor Richard Kurth+61 3 8344 7889conservatorium-director@unimelb.edu.au
Faculty Executive DirectorMs Jane Richards+61 3 9035 9316fineartsmusic-fed@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (Academic)Associate Professor Elliott Gyger+61 3 8344 7429egyger@unimelb.edu.au
Deputy Associate Dean (Academic)Dr Donna Lyon+61 3 9035 9083donna.lyon@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (Indigenous)Mr Tiriki Onus+61 3 9035 9345tiriki.onus@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (Research)Professor Felicity Baker+61 3 9035 3057felicity.baker@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean (International)Professor Mark Pollard+61 3 9035 9438pollardm@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Dean
(Diversity & Inclusion)
Associate Professor Sally Treloyn+61 3 8344 4064
Associate Dean
(Student Wellbeing)
Professor Katrina McFerran+61 3 8344 7382k.mcferran@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
(Teaching & Learning)
Siobhan Jackson+61 3 9035 9038siobhanj@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
(Research)
Dr Sean Lowry+61 3 9035 9432sean.lowry@unimelb.edu.au
VCA Associate Director
(Operations)
Associate Professor Richard Roberts+61 3 9035 4832caleb.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
Conservatorium Associate Director
(Learning & Teaching)
Dr Nicholas Tochka+61 3 9035 3131nicholas.tochka@unimelb.edu.au
Conservatorium Associate Director
(Research & Research Training)
Dr Miriama Young+61 3 8344 8241miriama.young@unimelb.edu.au
Conservatorium Associate Director (Individual Performance Studies)Associate Professor David Griffiths+61 3 9035 9346griffithsd@unimelb.edu.au
Conservatorium Associate Director (Ensemble StudiesAssociate Professor Nicholas Williams+61 3 8344 0830nicholas.williams@unimelb.edu.au
Conservatorium Associate Director (Creative Programming and Engagement)Associate Professor Curt Thompson+61 3 9035 9187w.thompson@unimelb.edu.au