Conservatorium accompanists

The Melbourne Conservatorium of Music provides students with an accompanist allowance to rehearse and perform with an approved accompanist in performance classes and practical examinations.

These allowances are available within the following degrees;

  • Diploma in Music (Practical)
  • Bachelor of Music
  • Bachelor of Music (Honours)
  • Graduate Diploma in Music (Practical)
  • Master of Music (Performance Teaching)
  • Master of Music (Music Performance)

Practical Examination Accompanist Allowance

Maximum accompanist allowance times are listed below and are inclusive of both rehearsal AND performance times (with the exception of RHD Master of Music recitals) eg. for a Bachelor of Music student enrolled in MUSI10221 Practical Music 2, the allowance would cover up to 1 hour and 40 minutes for rehearsal, and 20 minutes for the required examination time, for a total of 2 hours.

One hour per student 
Bachelor of MusicMUSI20026 Minor Music Performance 2
MUSI30051 Minor Music Performance 4
Two hours per student 
Bachelor of Music / Diploma in Music (Practical)MUSI10221 Practical Music 2
MUSI20200 Practical Music 4
MUSI30251 Practical Music 6
MUSI20202 Performance 4
MUSI30218 Music Performance 6
Bachelor of Music (Honours)MUSI40060 Concerto
Four hours per student 
Bachelor of MusicMUSI30253 Performance 6
MUSI30008 Performance Study 6
Bachelor of Music (Honours)MUSI40061 Recital
Graduate Diploma in Music (Practical)MUSI40017 Practical Study 2
Master of Music (Performance Teaching)MUSI90156 Performing to Teach 2
MUSI90157 Pedagogue Recital
Master of Music (Music Performance)(RHD Recitals receive accompanist allowance of up to 4 hours of rehearsal time PLUS the relevant examination time)
MUSI90100 Recital 1
MUSI70014 Recital 2

NOTE: Payment for any rehearsals in excess of the allocated hours indicated above, or for an accompanist not listed on the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists, are the responsibility of the student.

List of approved conservatorium accompanists

Students are required to use accompanists from the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists.

Students are required to notify the Conservatorium, via the Practical Examination Program Approval Form (due week 8 of each semester) of the accompanist that will be used for their recital examination. Students must notify the Faculty Academic Support Office if they are changing accompanists.

Name Specialist instrument and areasPhoneEmail
Amir Farid  0408 657 489 afarid@unimelb.edu.au
Robin Baker   0435 073 247 Robinb222@optusnet.com.au
Peter de Jager  0432 681 437 uberwolfie@gmail.com
Julia Hastings  0417 083 129 juliahastings.piano@gmail.com
Priscilla Taylor Harpsichord (03) 9387 5517 priscillataylor99@gmail.com
Aidan Boase   0400 408 528 boase.aidan@gmail.com
Nina Xu   0403 203 708 ninax8@hotmail.com
Gina Gataveckaite   0452 570 407 gintaute.gataveckaite@gmail.com
Stefan Cassomenos   0413 141 425 cassomenos@gmail.com
Elizabeth Anderson Harpsichord 0405 267 570 liz@elizabethanderson.org
Leigh Harrold   0417 895 732 pthleigh@yahoo.com.au
Berta Brozgul   0490 404 076 bertabrozgul@hotmail.com
Jacob Abela   0488 202 449 jacobabela@gmail.com
Christopher Wong   0490 046 987 chriswong963@gmail.com
Yasmin Rowe   0416 092 990 yasminrowe89@googlemail.com
Rhodri Clarke   0457 052 928 rhodriclarke@hotmail.com
Tamara Vasilevitsky   0412 531 056 tamvas@hotmail.com
Peter Baker   0439 397 368 peterbaker2011@outlook.com
Elyane Laussade   0408 626 808 elyanelaussade@outlook.com
Ann Morgan Harpsichord (03) 5348 7604 morganrecorders@gmail.com
Janis Cook (*not available in Semester 1 2020)   0428 480 743 jcookandco@gmail.com
Larissa Cox   0417 583 378 larissa.cox@optusnet.com.au
Liam Wooding   0497 034 405 liamkwooding@gmail.com
Coady Green   0488 129 088 coadygreen@googlemail.com
Kenji Fujimura   0412 787 478 kfujimura0@gmail.com
David Macfarlane Organ, Harpsichord 0412 915 380 mads@unimelb.edu.au
Tom Griffiths   0411 957 017 tgriffiths72@yahoo.com.au
Andrea Katz   0414 015 705 akatz@unimelb.edu.au
Elena Mogilevski   0402 240 419 elena@mogilevskiduo.com.au
Emma Lippa   0404 018 064 emma.lippa@bigpond.com
Calvin Bowman   0430 905 807 jsbach41@me.com
Louisa Breen   0439 565 664 louisabreen@gmail.com
Konrad Olszewski   0438 183 289 konradfolszewski@gmail.com
Raymond Shon   0437 449 492 raymondshon@gmail.com
Michelle Nguyen   0411 697 775 mnguyen.music@gmail.com
Karen Neumann   0423 935 344 ksneumann61@gmail.com
Victoria Bilogan   0413 180 895 victoriabilogan7@gmail.com
Stewart Kelly   0423 158 522 stewart.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Jane Ferdinands   0425 427 100 j.ferdinands@unimelb.edu.au
Donald Nicolson Harpsichord, Fortepiano, Piano 0450 242 679 nzharpsichord@gmail.com
Nicholas Young   0434 742 667 contact@nicholasyoungpiano.com

Non-keyboard accompaniment

Contemporary music students completing the Master of Music (Performance Teaching) and students undertaking specialist instrumental studies (eg. early music) can apply for special permission from the Faculty Academic Support Office to use an accompanist outside of the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists.

FAQ Conservatorium accompanists

Apply to become an approved accompanist

Unfortunately, due to changes in teaching practices as a result of COVID-19, we are not accepting new applications for inclusion on the list of approved conservatorium accompanists.

Please check back periodically, as we will look to accept applications in the near future.