Conservatorium accompanists

The Melbourne Conservatorium of Music provides students with an accompanist allowance to rehearse and perform with an approved accompanist in performance classes and practical examinations.

These allowances are available within the following degrees;

  • Diploma in Music (Practical)
  • Bachelor of Music
  • Bachelor of Music (Honours)
  • Graduate Diploma in Music (Practical)
  • Master of Music (Performance Teaching)
  • Master of Music (Music Performance)

Practical Examination Accompanist Allowance

Maximum accompanist allowance times are listed below and are inclusive of both rehearsal AND performance times (with the exception of RHD Master of Music recitals) eg. for a Bachelor of Music student enrolled in MUSI10221 Practical Music 2, the allowance would cover up to 1 hour and 40 minutes for rehearsal, and 20 minutes for the required examination time, for a total of 2 hours.

One hour per student
Bachelor of Music MUSI20026 Minor Music Performance 2
MUSI30051 Minor Music Performance 4
Two hours per student
Bachelor of Music / Diploma in Music (Practical) MUSI10221 Practical Music 2
MUSI20200 Practical Music 4
MUSI30251 Practical Music 6
MUSI20202 Performance 4
MUSI30218 Music Performance 6
Bachelor of Music (Honours) MUSI40060 Concerto
MUSI40088 Integrated Musical Practice 1
MUSI40089 Integrated Musical Practice 2
Graduate Diploma in Music (Practical) MUSI40088 Integrated Musical Practice 1
MUSI40089 Integrated Musical Practice 2
Four hours per student
Bachelor of Music MUSI30253 Performance 6
MUSI30008 Performance Study 6
Bachelor of Music (Honours) MUSI40061 Recital
Graduate Diploma in Music (Practical) MUSI40017 Practical Study 2
Master of Music (Performance Teaching) MUSI90156 Performing to Teach 2
MUSI90157 Pedagogue Recital
Master of Music (Research) in Music Performance Graduate Research Recitals receive accompanist allowance of up to 4 hours of rehearsal time PLUS the relevant examination time)
MUSI70012 - Research Project (MMus)

NOTE: Payment for any rehearsals in excess of the allocated hours indicated above, or for an accompanist not listed on the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists, are the responsibility of the student.

List of approved conservatorium accompanists (PCME)

Students are required to use accompanists from the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists.

Name Specialist instrument and areasPhoneEmail
Amir Farid  0408 657 489 afarid@unimelb.edu.au
Nicholas Young 0434 742 667contact@nicholasyoungpiano.com
Peter de Jager  0432 681 437 uberwolfie@gmail.com
Julia Hastings  0417 083 129 juliahastings.piano@gmail.com
Priscilla Taylor Harpsichord (03) 9387 5517 priscillataylor99@gmail.com
Aidan Boase   0400 408 528 boase.aidan@gmail.com
Donald NicolsonHarpsichord, Fortepiano, Piano0450 242 679nzharpsichord@gmail.com
Gina Gataveckaite   0452 570 407 gintaute.gataveckaite@gmail.com
Stefan Cassomenos   0413 141 425 cassomenos@gmail.com
Elizabeth Anderson Harpsichord 0405 267 570 liz@elizabethanderson.org
Leigh Harrold   0417 895 732 pthleigh@yahoo.com.au
Berta Brozgul   0490 404 076 bertabrozgul@hotmail.com
Jacob Abela   0488 202 449 jacobabela@gmail.com
Christopher Wong   0490 046 987 chriswong963@gmail.com
Rhodri Clarke   0457 052 928 rhodriclarke@hotmail.com
Peter Baker   0439 397 368 peterbaker2011@outlook.com
Elyane Laussade   0408 626 808 elyanelaussade@outlook.com
Ann Morgan Harpsichord (03) 5348 7604 morganrecorders@gmail.com
Larissa Cox   0417 583 378 larissa.cox@optusnet.com.au
Coady Green   0488 129 088 coadygreen@googlemail.com
Kenji Fujimura   0412 787 478 kfujimura0@gmail.com
David Macfarlane Organ, Harpsichord 0412 915 380 mads@unimelb.edu.au
Tom Griffiths   0411 957 017 tgriffiths72@yahoo.com.au
Andrea Katz   0414 015 705 akatz@unimelb.edu.au
Elena Mogilevski   0402 240 419 elena@mogilevskiduo.com.au
Emma Lippa   0404 018 064 emma.lippa@bigpond.com
Calvin Bowman   0430 905 807 jsbach41@me.com
Louisa Breen   0439 565 664 louisabreen@gmail.com
Konrad Olszewski   0438 183 289 konradfolszewski@gmail.com
Raymond Shon   0437 449 492 raymondshon@gmail.com
Michelle Nguyen   0411 697 775 mnguyen.music@gmail.com
Karen Neumann   0423 935 344 ksneumann61@gmail.com
Stewart Kelly   0423 158 522 stewart.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Jane Ferdinands   0425 427 100j.ferdinands@unimelb.edu.au
Victoria BiloganHarpsichord0413 180 895victoriabilogan7@gmail.com
Adam McMillan 0403 680 684hello@adammcmillan.com.au
Modi Deng 0420 758 906

modi.deng1@unimelb.edu.au

Jennifer Yu 0422 125 585jennifer_yu199@hotmail.com

List of suggested jazz and improvisation accompanists

The Conservatorium can suggest accompanists if you require one for auditions. Please refer to the list below.

There is no requirement to engage an accompanist from the suggested list.

Accompanists on the suggested list are not university employees and any arrangement for payment is solely between the applicant and accompanist.

Name Specialist instrument and areasPhoneEmail

Patrick Britton

Piano

0400611203

patrickpluspiano@gmail.com

Nathan Liow

Piano

NA

nathanliow@gmail.com

Matt Hoyne

guitar

0431930895

matthoynemusic@gmail.com

Isaac Gunnoo

Bass

0430814027

igunnoomusic@gmail.com

Ross Anderson

Bass

0457260050

ross_anderson88@hotmail.com

Lewis Pierre-Humbert

Drums

0400821662

lewispierredrums@gmail.com

Oliver Cox

Drums

0458912436

olivercox96@gmail.com

Maddison Carter

Drums

0432746875

maddisontcarter@gmail.com

Flora Carbo

saxophone

0498630404

floracarbo@gmail.com

Hector Harley

saxophone

0417093249

hrh.8188@gmail.com

Callum Mintzis

trombone

0416411762

mintziscallum@gmail.com

Non-keyboard accompaniment

Contemporary music students completing the Master of Music (Performance Teaching) and students undertaking specialist instrumental studies (eg. early music) can apply for special permission from the Faculty Academic Support Office to use an accompanist outside of the Conservatorium's list of approved accompanists.

FAQ Conservatorium accompanists

Apply to become an approved accompanist

Do not contact members of staff directly regarding your application. Instead, prepare the following application materials:

  • a detailed CV outlining qualifications, experience and a sample repertoire list demonstrating the range and level of repertoire in an accompanying role as well as a list of appropriate performances over the last three years. Please include name, email and phone contact information.
  • web-based, video recorded material demonstrating a professional level of concert accompaniment (at least 45 minutes in total) in at least three areas from the following: strings, woodwind, brass, voice or chamber music. Dates of the performances should be provided.
  • two written references from professional (performing) musicians of standing that are not more than six months old and which comment directly on accompanying experience and capacity. The referees need to be available for further consultation if needed. If previous contact with academic staff from the Conservatorium is relevant, this may be indicated as well.

Send all materials by email to fineartsmusic-spf@unimelb.edu.au.